Return of the Studio 3

Hi everyone,

so this trimester i’m repeating studio 3, which isn’t a massive deal I guess.

Although i’m only enrolled in the Studio 3 subject, i’m finding this trimester so far one of the busiest! That doesn’t mean i’m not enjoying it though.

I’m in the midst of (first time) producing my used-to-be grad film “Rainbow” (working title), and combining that with all the activities thrown my way for Studio 3 by Craig, you could say i’m quite the busy bee.
Despite this being my first time in a producing role, i’m really enjoying the challenge. I’m constantly motivated by my director Levi, and having the responsibility hanging over my shoulders for the success of the film is helping me drive the film along as well. I really want it to do well and end up at festivals around the world, and I know, i’m aiming very high.
I feel like i’ve got a solid team on my hands. Some are slower to get out of holiday mode than others, but we are all trying out best. I was very nervous before stepping into producing, because it seems like a lot of work and takes heaps of time management skills. So far, so good with that one!
One of the challenges I’m facing is budget. It’s so hard to budget for things when you don’t have money at all. Catering is expensive, and we require some expensive props. Since when are bike’s so expensive? Why does catering have to cost an arm and a leg? How am I going to pull all of this off with no money? I’m going to apply for a budget from SAE, but we may not be successful. I’m learning everything as I go, but I’ve found that i’ve already done a lot of producing tasks while being director. Being in a small class forces you to take on a few roles, so now I’ve just secluded myself off to the producing side and have abandoned the directing side.

I feel like i’m doing well. I keep tabs with Mairi about twice a week, and Craig has told me he’s noticed the producer in me by the way I talk about shooting a film and the logistics behind it. I’m not sure if it’s because i’m in producer mode, or if i’m meant to be a producer. But, for now, i’m trying not to focus on the bigger picture and to focus on what is in front of me.

Hopefully next week is as good as this one!
Ciao,
Dana.

Leave a comment