(LO13) Reflecting on feedback from online viewers

So as you know, I filmed a fashion video for my friend Anh. I recently uploaded it to youtube and ask for feedback. This blog post is dedicated to LO13 – where I respond to the feedback, and if I would change anything in regards to this feedback. Here’s a screen cap of the feedback so far:

Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 5.10.35 pm

100% of the feedback I have been given has been positive, which has been a sigh of relief. There were many opportunities where I could have crashed and burned while filming/editing this project. The last minute decision to use green screen was terrifying as I was the editor. I’ve filmed on green screen many times for my internship, but it is a painted wall, not a roll of material, and isn’t full body. The main point is I had never been taught how to edit with chromakey. I threw myself into the deep end, with little knowledge of Adobe After Effects and barely any editing experience. The feedback has been a shine of light amidst a dark trimester, and has been a reward for the hard work I put into this production.

Would I have changed anything? I probably would have tried to find an alternative method of filming rather than green screen, but only for reasons being it took up so much time, which could have been spent on other assessments. I don’t regret using the green screen, especially because it wasn’t lit properly, because now i’ve learnt so much more about post production. I now am more confident with colour correction, chroma key, masks, keyframes, and so much more because of this video and i’m proud of how much I have achieved, and the comments on this video has reflected that.

I did get one suggestion, from user ‘Broseph Plays’: “Only thing that would of been cool would be some semi-slow motion effects to put a little more variation into the filming”. I did attempt to play with this effect, but it didn’t seem to have the same effect as the sped up footage did. Some of the footage used is sped up to almost 500%, and only a few clips remained at their original speed. The sped up footage created a quirky look that suited the soundtrack, and complimented it nicely.

People appreciated the juxtaposition between the music and the imagery, “The ambient-esque music creates a sense of mystery and intrigue rather than the usual horror vibe. The visuals are very nice and clean and the background colour palette makes the model stand out more than the rest”.
Choosing a background was a difficult process, and i’m glad Anh and I settled on this one. The empty, futuristic room set an almost sci-fi tone while accompanied by the visual effects, which makes it take a step up over a plain white room.

They commenters said they were left with wanting more, which is the whole purpose of the video. The ‘Anh’ logo and the season title at the end wrapped up the idea and people understood the campaign.

Overall, I wouldn’t have completed this video differently. I’d play around more with effects for personal use, however I feel there is an even balance and build of effects used in the video, which isn’t over used or violated. I’m proud of myself for my work, and would love to do projects like this in the future.

-D.

Leave a comment